Gourmet restaurant in the centre of Rouen

A cosy and intimate setting

Located on the banks of the Seine and with its contemporary, understated and elegant facade, Gill is the sort of establishment that only fully reveals its true delights on crossing its threshold.

With its soft lighting, refined tones, elegantly laid tables and pared back tableware, the restaurant’s décor and furnishings strike just the right tone. The lines are pure and simple, with no unnecessary frills, very much like the Chef’s authentic cuisine. And thus the scene is set: Gill offers you a moment of light and serenity in the most relaxing of environments.

interior

A Chef, a team

Gilles Tournadre is from Normandy and is passionate about his region. He is equally passionate about the cuisine of Japan, a country he’s visited annually for the past 20 years. Through his cuisine he has managed to blend these two loves to create an unexpected and delightful alchemy that combines the generosity of Norman cuisine with the purity and flavours of the Japanese tradition. A balance rewarded by two Michelin stars from 1984 to 2020.

Meanwhile, Sylvie Tournadre, the daughter of wine growers from Bué in the Sancerre region, brings her in-depth knowledge and love of wines to the table. She selects grands crus and seeks out delicious and promising young wines, which she then showcases at “Gill” to best enhance and accompany the restaurant’s dishes.

In the kitchen, Sylvain Nouin, former chef of restaurant Le 37, has joined Gilles Tournadre’s brigade, combining the signature styles of “Le 37” with that of “Gill” to celebrate the wonderful continuity between these two establishments.

Duo

Products come first !

“In our profession, the only star is the produce which we strive to elevate. My cuisine is a simple cuisine, without unnecessary frills or sophistication, just enhanced with clean and subtle blends.”

And this is how Gilles Tournadre affirms his love and deep respect of the produce. Through his cuisine, he aims to magnify and reveal its many subtleties and riches without ever de-structuring or altering it. What emerges is a cuisine of fine produce and true emotion that combines simplicity with sincerity, authenticity with generosity, making for a truly gourmet interlude in Rouen’s historic city centre.

team

Gill

Gill
table
kitchen
table

Restaurant gourmand dans le centre-ville de Rouen

Un cadre cosy & intimiste

Située sur les Quais de Seine, avec sa façade moderne, sobre et élégante, Gill est de ces maisons qui ne se dévoile qu’à ceux qui en franchissent le seuil.

Éclairage doux, tons raffinés, tables joliment disposées et dressées, vaisselle sobre... Rien de trop dans la décoration et le mobilier. Les lignes sont pures, sans fioriture inutile, à l’image de la cuisine authentique du Chef. Le ton est donné : Gill vous offre un moment de légèreté et de sérénité dans une ambiance plus décontractée. 

Salle du restaurant, éclairage et raffiné

Un chef, une équipe

Gilles Tournadre est normand et aime son pays. Passionné depuis toujours par la cuisine japonaise, pays dans lequel il s’est rendu chaque année pendant près de 20 ans, il a créé une alchimie inédite et merveilleuse entre la générosité de la cuisine normande et la pureté de la tradition japonaise en s’inspirant de ces saveurs. Un équilibré récompensé par deux étoiles Michelin de 1984 à 2020.

De son côté, Sylvie Tournadre, fille de vignerons au pays du Sancerre à Bué, apporte sa connaissance du vin. Elle sélectionne des grands crus, repère de délicieux primeurs prometteurs qu’elle met en valeur du sein du « Gill » pour accompagner de la meilleure des façons les plats de la Maison.

Côté cuisine, Sylvain Nouin, anciennement chef du restaurant le 37, a rejoint la brigade de Gilles Tournadre, afin de fusionner l’ADN du « 37 » avec celui du « Gill » pour une belle continuité entre ces 2 établissements. 

Gilles Tournadre et sa femme <span>Sylvie</span>

Les produits à l'honneur

« Dans notre métier, la seule star c’est le produit qu’on aime sublimer. Ma cuisine est une cuisine simple, sans sophistication inutile, juste agrémentée de mariages limpides et subtils. »

Gilles Tournadre affirme ainsi son profond respect pour le produit. Par sa cuisine, il veut le magnifier, en révéler toutes les subtilités et les richesses, sans jamais le déstructurer, ni l’altérer. Il en ressort une cuisine du produit et de l’émotion, simple et sincère, authentique et généreuse, que l’on prend plaisir à venir déguster, le temps d’une parenthèse gourmande dans le centre-ville de Rouen.

Equipe du restaurant

Gill

Gill
table
cuisine
table